Paperback Cheese Novel
Dripping with melted cheeses...

Clear surfaces = clear mind?

2004-11-16
I didn't end up going to work. Rusty took me to pick up my car and then I came home and spent the day cleaning my apartment from top to bottom. I did dishes, vacuumed, folded clothing, scrubbed rice off the walls, paid bills, sent out resumes to dozens of places, did some transcription and am now completely beat.

Back to work tomorrow. I feel slightly more sane now that my house is clean at least.

10:57 p.m. ::
prev :: next

Reaching the boiling point

2004-11-16
The car is going to cost me about $550 and I need to get up there and pick it up tonight with a check in hand. We shall see how I manage to pull off that miracle. Or that bounced check.

I am home sick today. My head feels like it is going to explode and my coughing fits have become uncontrollable. I'm in such a daze that I am doing incredibly stupid things.

Last night I tried to make some rice in my rice cooker. There is a metal dish that kind of sits inside of the cooker and I put the rice and water in there, plugged it in and turned it on. Something smelled funny but it was faint (due to my extreme congestion) so I ignored it. Several minutes later, the rice cooker pretty much exploded sending sticky bits of rice and water all over the kitchen coating the walls and everything else in there in a kind of mushy paste. I then pulled out the metal part and found that lodged between the cooker and the bowl was a plastic bag which had melted to metal contacts and the instruction booklet for the cooker.

This morning while attempting to get a glass of juice, I misjudged the stability of the glass on the counter and it fell, shattering all over the floor. While attempting to pick up the pieces, I cut my hand. The blood is still kind of oozing from it.

So, after vacuuming up the remaining bits of glass, I put a pot of tea on the stove. It seemed weird that it was taking so long to boil and again, there was a funny smell. So, I went back into the rice covered kitchen with glass bits still on the floor to discover that I had the wrong burner turned on.

I am essentially living in squallor right now. Every square inch of my apartment is covered in either rice, broken glass, kleenex, dirty dishes, clothing, papers, bill remnants, and other crap.

As soon as my head clears and the drugs I took kick in, I'm going to take the bus to work and finish out the day there. Better to be sick and working, making money to pay for my car then lying around my disgusting apartment soaking up the misery.

*Sarah*

10:48 a.m. ::
prev :: next
10:57 p.m. ::
prev :: next