Paperback Cheese Novel
Dripping with melted cheeses...

I'm so excited, and I just can't hide it

2004-11-15
My grandparents are okay. My dad was actually in the car with them when the accident happened. My grandpa broke a few ribs, and my grandma had some severe bruising but they were otherwise good. My dad cracked his wrist pulling my grandma out of the car though.

The temp job is going fine. I took my car into the shop yesterday so we'll see what happens (how much it's going to cost me) with that.

I started getting sick on Friday and am feeling the worst of it today. I've been working like a mad woman, drinking lots of tea and coughing up terrible looking stuff most of the day today.

I did some budget calculations and even with the temp job and the transcription, I should be about $1,500 short of meeting my expenses by mid December. (That doesn't include the car repair or other unforseen expenses either). Exciting, isn't it?

12:04 a.m. ::
prev :: next

It just keeps coming

2004-11-09
My mom just called. My grandparents went up to the cabin tonight to visit my dad. They went out for dinner. On the way back my grandpa overcompensated while trying to make a sharp turn and rolled their SUV into a ditch. My dad was following them and saw the whole thing. They had to take off the top of the car to get them out of it.

My grandma just had major surgery on her back at the end of the summer. We haven't heard anything yet. They were taken by ambulance to the hospital and my mom is waiting for news from my dad. It's going to be a long night.

9:48 p.m. ::
prev :: next

It has almost become comical

2004-11-08
I've started a long-term temp job at a big downtown law firm. It seems like it will be okay for awhile at least. A boy I went to high school is temping there as well and it was strange to run into him there.

I interviewed for a position a recruiter had called me on this afternoon. It sounds miserable and I already know that I would not accept it were it offered to me. More wasted time.

Something is wrong with my car. The "check engine" light came on this Sunday and since then it has begun to shake violently and lose acceleration.

I also got my period for the first time in a year and have been bleeding like a stuck pig. I talked to a nurse on the phone and she said the amount is definitely beyond normal. I have to go in and see someone about it soon.

Fantastic news.

5:32 p.m. ::
prev :: next

Quarter Life Crisis

2004-11-03
As if things weren't bad enough... The loss of the election was like the cherry on the sundae of doom.

I lost my job last Friday. Not like, "hey, where did my job go?", but more like, "hey, we're taking your job away now, please leave". I actually broke down crying in my boss's office which was like adding embarassment to something already overflowing with humiliation and disappointment.

Thinking too much about what I'm going to do next sends me into panic attack mode. I spent 3 and 1/2 hours re-registering with temp services today and after leaving, returned to find a parking ticket on my car. My meter had expired by 2 minutes. I then had an interview this afternoon and by that point I was already so angry and distracted that I probably blew that.

I had to put in notice on my apartment on the first "just in case" I'm not going to be able to afford it anymore. I'll have to pay huge penalty fees when I do move out and I'm not even sure how I'm going to make rent for next month. With added insurance costs for COBRA coverage I'm now not even coming close to being able to...well...live.

When I started at my (now) previous job, I was told that I was guaranteed a certain amount of money after 3 months of employment; NOT conditional on job performance but only to make sure I would stay. After almost 6 months, I finally had my review and they did not give me the promised raise. So, I had to take on a second job in order to be able to pay rent. And, their reason for letting me go? That I was too divided working a second job and unable to devote my full time and energy to THEM.

I wanted to just scream "IF YOU HAD JUST PAID ME WHAT YOU PROMISED YOU WERE GOING TO PAY ME, I NEVER WOULD HAVE HAD TO TAKE THE SECOND JOB AND CONSEQUENTLY GET FIRED!!!!". But instead, I graciously thanked them for the opportunity to work for them, told them I was sorry that things hadn't worked on and told them they I hoped they wouldn't hesitate to call me if they had any questions about projects or anything else I had been working on.

The next (metaphorical) kick in the balls was that, after months of bitchy emails complaining that I was not working enough at my SECOND job, I called to find that not only do they not have more work for me to do while I'm temporarily unemployed, they also want me to cut back from the amount I was doing before.

To add insult to injury, the majority of my friends have conveniently disappeared. What was that about finding out who your true friends are in a crisis time? Rusty has been wonderful and supportive and great, but other than my parents, no one has even called to see how I'm doing. For that matter, some of them don't even answer their phones when I call. How lovely.

While staring at the television this afternoon and listening to Kerry's concession speech this afternoon, part of me just gave up and said "you need to get out of this country". So, after checking out Bevin's link, I've decided to put myself up for marriage to any sympathetic Canadian willing to marry me to give me safe passage out of here and into a country where people don't willing choose a dictatorship. Applicants may apply in the guestbook.

*Sarah*

7:00 p.m. ::
prev :: next
12:04 a.m. ::
prev :: next