Paperback Cheese Novel
Dripping with melted cheeses...

Counting down the minutes

2002-09-25
Note to self: remember to bring a book to work tomorrow. The receptionist is on vacation and you'll be stuck at the front desk all day with nothing to do.

I only have an hour and a half left of working today. I'm driving down to my parent's house to celebrate my mother's birthday tonight. And also to scourge my old bedroom for French texts and resources from classes long ago.

A boy that I've been talking to online called and left a long rambling message on my cell phone last night. I got it today after class and smiled. I haven't talked to him much, but he seems nice. We bonded over Modest Mouse and Christopher Guest movies.

I need to mail stuff, but I'm lazy. I made a tape for her, and I need to send a birthday present to my best friend in Boston. I also need to pay bills. I have temporarily...well, not done it.

*Sarah*

2:00 p.m. ::
prev :: next

The End of the Road

2002-09-25
I finally broke down and decided to talk to my boss about things yesterday.

I started off by asking for some feedback about how things were going. He said that he was very pleased with my work, and that he has been satisfied with everything that I have done.

Then I told him that I was feeling a lot of hostility from other people in the office, and he said that he had been expecting that.

He said that, quite frankly, certain people in the office were just flat-out bitches and he didn't know what to do about it. He said that as a rule, the people in my position have always been ostracized and scorned by the other people in the office.

Just lovely. I found out that people have been talking shit behind my back and going to him to complain about me. Three people came in and talked to him about me leaving an hour early last Friday. I left an hour early because I was well over two hours over the hours that I needed for the week, and I had his written prior consent.

He told me that he had told these people that it was none of their business and that he is in charge, not them.

And he told me that there is really nothing that he can do about this. He said that if he could clone me and fire everyone else, he would.

The fact that he pointed out (several times) to me that I am "pleasant to work with" just exemplifies the fact that most people here are not.

The office manager has been especially awful lately. She's taken to swearing loudly and actually throwing things around the filing room when she's upset. I'm terrified of her.

At the end of our talk, I was asked to write a confidential memo to my boss detailing the "mistreatment" of others here. He wants to take time to read it and decide how to proceed from there. I really don't know what I'm going to write. I don't want to just bitch about people, and there aren't necessarily specific acts committed against me that I can tell him about. It's more scornful glances, nasty stares, cold shoulder stuff... Heresay really.

So, I don't know what good (if any) will come from all of this. It helps to know that John is satisfied with my work.

But, I also now know that people are talking about me behind my back, that they resent me, and that it's not going to get better.

What do I do? Why can't someone just tell me the right thing to do?

*Sarah*

8:38 a.m. ::
prev :: next
2:00 p.m. ::
prev :: next