Paperback Cheese Novel
Dripping with melted cheeses...

The smell of grease in the morning

2002-09-23
Well, where to begin?

Friday night was completely uneventful. I read all night.

I spent Saturday playing video games and doing more reading. David came and picked me up that evening and we went for a walk until I got sick and went home.

On Sunday, I was doing dishes and spilled a can full of grease. Drained grease from cooking (mostly hamburger and bacon). It has been sitting in a can behind the sink for months. It went all over. The smell is beyond description. I was gagging while trying to contain the spill area. I spent hours scrubbing and re-scrubbing, and the kitchen still smells like foul rotting diapers.

So, after that, I get in my car to buy baking soda to absorb the smell, and what do you know? It won't start.

David took me to run errands and we went out for pizza. Everyone should have a David in their life. Someone they can always depend on and who will put aside what they're doing to help you out. For him, I'm most thankful these days.

So, I called in to work this morning and spent the morning working on the car. I called a wrecker service and they jumped my battery so that I could get to the auto parts store.

I bought a new battery and installed it in the parking lot using borrowed tools from the mechanic. People came in and out and stared at me. Someone made a comment expressing suprise that I had gotten the battery in. It's only a battery. I'm no mechanic.

But I suppose I looked a bit off...leaning under the hood with tools wearing tall black leather boots, slim cut khakis and a black button-down top...my black gucci purse on the curb next to the toolbox.

Oh yes, did I mention that I'm still at work? Well, I am. And now I get to go home to my nasty smelling apartment and sulk.

*Sarah*

6:35 p.m. ::
prev :: next
6:35 p.m. ::
prev :: next