Paperback Cheese Novel
Dripping with melted cheeses...

the comfort of strangers

2002-08-26
i just had a strange lunch. i went down to a little place for some breakfast. while i was sitting there, another lady pulled up a chair and asked if she could sit with me. i said i didn't mind.

we ended up having a long conversation. i found out that she used to work at a small law firm around here as well. she was in the exact position i was in and left after six months. she was miserable the whole time she was there. it was really nice to be able to vent my frustrations to someone who knew exactly what i was talking about. and strange. the comfort of strangers or something.

she was definitely the most friendly person i've met in a long long time. her name was macy. perhaps we'll run into each other again there.

in other news, i've continued to work on getting my things put together for the job application. i've gotten two city administrators to write letters or recommendation for me, and have submitted all of the necessary application materials. i've talked to human resources and have begun writing my questions and doing preparation for an interview. hopefully this will all come together.

i've gone over my budget and realized that if i put in my two weeks notice today, i'd have enough money to live on (without working) until the end of October. I think that would give me ample time to find another job. i'm worried though. i should probably wait until i get an offer somewhere, but i'm so damn miserable here. i don't want to wait. the idea of coming in here every day for another month or so makes me feel sick to my stomach.

and life is too short. it's not worth being miserable. but i can't do it today. i need to think a little more. i need to have at least one more prospect on the horizon before i'd feel comfortable enough to do it. and i want to talk to my parents about it. i mentioned it to my mom last night and she said that she and my dad would stand by whatever i decide to do and support me. that makes it a hundred times easier.

i suppose...back to work now.

*sarah*

12:49 p.m. ::
prev :: next
12:49 p.m. ::
prev :: next