Paperback Cheese Novel
Dripping with melted cheeses...

Give me something to sing about

2004-03-05
It has been a great week so far. I really like my new job. The people are incredibly nice and fun and the atmosphere is really relaxed. After my first day of work, my boss called me at home to thank me for being there and to see how my day had gone. It's such a drastic change. Yesterday, when my boss walked in, he stopped and laughed and said "You just look too happy". And I am. I'm happy to be in a place where people do things just because it's the right thing to do. I'm happy to be in a place where I'm appreciated and complimented on my work. I'm glad to be in a place where the things I'm doing make sense and aren't breaking any laws.

And it sure helps that I work with a lot of good-looking guys. I'm the only female employee in the company. There are about 10-15 (not sure yet) linemen who are in their twenties and early thirties who hang around the office before and after their shifts and it's fun just to look at them.

I'm going back to Podunk tomorrow to pack up my stuff and then to 'Kato to visit my friend Joe. My parents are finally going to get their basement back. My move-in date is set for the following Saturday and I've enlisted David, Rusty and Anne to help me move. Things are seriously looking up.

I'm really excited about my new place. It's going to be so nice to have it all to myself. I'm excited about silly things like finally being able to move in all of my books (after 5 years of storing them in boxes at my parent's house). I'm excited about getting bookcases and setting up my own personal library. I'm excited about moving in my grandma's rocking chair which was too special to move into the houses I lived where parties were constant and things always got ruined. I'm excited about changing my driver's license and knowing I won't have to change it again for a long time. I'm excited about my new phone number and long distance plan. I'm just happy.

Ruthie is coming to take me out to dinner shortly. She and I have had some issues lately (well, just me with her and not to her knowledge), but I think it's going to be okay. For various reasons I will probably be cutting back on the time we spend together, but she'll still be there. We have established some level of friendship over this past year.

And hey, is my guestbook still working, because it's been a LONG time since I've heard from anyone :P.

*Sarah*

5:33 p.m. ::
prev :: next
5:33 p.m. ::
prev :: next