Paperback Cheese Novel
Dripping with melted cheeses...

That Slippery Slope

2004-07-28
Things have gotten a bit strange. I can't quite put my finger on it, but something isn't right. Most of it has to do with she-who-resides-in-my-diningroom. Namely, I haven't seen her since last Friday. When she lost her job, started drinking again (she's a recovering alcoholic), went to bed at 6:00 p.m. and swore in her sleep.

While I've certainly enjoyed not having her around this week, I just know that something is up. She is the queen of avoidance and not seeing her can only mean she's avoiding me. She's been careful to only stop in at the apartment during business hours while I'm at work. She hasn't paid her bills in months and I can't reach her by phone. Today when I got home, the cat and the litterbox were gone.

All I can postulate is that this means she's not going to be able to pay rent in four days. I can't imagine any possible scenario in which she could unless her boyfiend fronted her the money (which is unlikely at best). So, as per her pattern, she will just avoid me, making me angry and the problem worse until it's too late and then things are irrevocably strained between us and I ask her to move out.

I can't say I'm looking forward to dealing with this. I've got enough stuff on my mind these days.

I went home to Podunk last weekend and visited my parents. My sister was in town for the weekend as well. It was a quiet weekend, which I sorely needed. I did a little shopping and spent $2 on records at Crazy Days (Podunk's city-wide sidewalk sale). My mom bought me four adorable little desert plates marked down from $30/plate. I dropped them in the elevator on the way home but they appear intact thus far. Saturday night was my dad's cousins' retirement party and Sunday was spent moping around the house.

Rusty came over last night and we finished Season 3 of Buffy which was enjoyable. I must admit that I am a little Buffy-ed out right now though. I had just finished Season 6 obsession not long ago and now we've watched 3 seasons in less than a month. Perhaps it's time for a Buffy break.

I've been smoking disgusting cigarettes. On a whim, I went to a tobacco store and bought a pack of the Camel Lime Twists, Camel Bayou Berry, and a pack of Virginia Slim Super Slims (menthol). I actually gagged on some of them. Not that it has stopped me from finishing the pack. Waste not...

There isn't too much excitement in my life right now. I'm trying to dig my way out of the financial hole that I landed in several years ago. The best analogy I can think of is me trying to dig a canyon with a teaspoon. I did some budget stuff with my parents this weekend and found that I've paid off over $15,000.00 in debt in the last three years. You might think it would make me feel good but it only makes me feel incredibly stupid. What's worse is that I only have at least 3 more years of living frugally and working two jobs before I make a substantial difference. I'll be 28 then. *shudders*

I have an appointment with a nutritionist next week. That should be interesting. I suppose she'll tell me all kinds of outlandish things like "eating healthy and exercising are the best way to lose weight and feel better" or "your eating habits are reprehensible". You know, the obvious stuff.

*Sarah*

8:14 p.m. ::
prev :: next
8:14 p.m. ::
prev :: next