Paperback Cheese Novel
Dripping with melted cheeses...

And here's the kicker

2004-02-09
Indeed. Several vodka cranberries later and here I am. I know I must still be in partial denial because I'm sitting here feeling guilty about drinking on a work night and still subconsciously worrying about how I'll get through work tomorrow with a hangover.

It's just strange. I don't ever have to go back there. I won't see some of those people ever again. It was all rather abrupt.

Ruthie made stroganoff for dinner. I made valentine's with construction paper and lace hearts with Anne and Hannah. Anne and I played video games and now Ruthie is in bed and I am sitting in my dark apartment trying to think but trying not to think too hard. Or something.

I think it's time for bed.

*Sarah*

10:32 p.m. ::
prev :: next

I got laid!!! (off)

2004-02-09
Well, it's official. The end is here. Or was here a few hours ago. They rounded us up into a room and laid us all off today. We got our checks, letters of recommendation and were sent on our way. I am officially unemployed.

My boss looked like he might cry and told us they were repossessing the machines and that in the end, he would lose his house. (His childhood house that he grew up in and bought after he became a doctor). I took my microwave, forwarded my email and walked out without looking back. It's finally over.

I stopped by the liquor store on my way home and plans have been made for Ruthie, Anne and I to have a little party tonight to celebrate (or something).

Tomorrow I have an interview with a recruiter that called me this morning. Hopefully that will go well. Something will come up at least.

Honestly, I'm not feeling too bad about it right now. I'm still somewhere around "did that really just happen?"

I knew it was coming. Just didn't know it was coming today.

*Sarah*

6:15 p.m. ::
prev :: next
10:32 p.m. ::
prev :: next